In my country, cock fighting is illegal…

…but apparently in Nica it´s a Sunday afternoon outing with the family. I don´t think I´ll take the opportunity to go on that particular tour, however for those who might be interested during their own trip, for $12 you can attend the rooster fights on Sunday. 3-6 pm. Open bar.

Although I won´t have to use the bank while I´m here, I did notice that it should be a fairly safe thing to do. Each bank has a guard at every entrance. Holding a very serious looking gun.

Big breakfast this morning in anticipation of volcano boarding. Very good french toast. The thing is thought that it´s so hot I don´t really have an appetite, but I figure I need sustenance to hurl myself down the volcanic ash.

However, since the tour doesn´t leave until 1 pm, this morning I went to the Cathedral of Leon, a gigantic church in a city of giant churches. It was built in the 1600s, burned down the rebuilt over the course of 100 years. And we think contractors take a long time on our renovations…

The cathedral is built of stone but its been blackened on the outside due to volcanic ash. I suppose they just can’t keep up with the cleaning.

Apparently this church was actually meant to be built in Lima Peru, but someone screwed up the plans and it was built in Leon instead. I´m thinking someone lost their job over that one.

Cathedral de Leon

Cathedral de Leon

I think I managed to take some beautiful photos of Leon and the surrounding area from the very top of the church. I generally take substandard photos, so I hope these turn out. You can see the volcanos smoking in the background. I got this Kiwi guy to take a photo of me in the bell tower. He looks at my camera (borrowed from my sister, thank you, Erika) and says, That´s a classic digital camera. And I say, By classic, I take it you mean old. Smile. Yup. He, on the other hand, has this huge gizmo of a camera with telephoto lenses and hands it to me, asking me to take a photo with it. Seriously?? Okay Catherine, don´t drop this because it´s got to be worth a small fortune. No pressure. I think I took a very nice picture for him.

Leave a Reply

