She Swims with the Fishes (Part Deux)…or in Spanish, (Part Dos)

I certainly couldn’t come to Taganga, the place with the most dive shops per square metre in the world, and NOT get on a boat. While I could have spent the entire 4 days here and ended up with my diver certification, I’m saving that experience for another time, maybe for Honduras, but that’s another possible adventure…and snorkel instead.

DSCN0178

So I got on yet another dive boat as the sole snorkeler.

DSCN0143

DSCN0179

And it was the most amazing snorkel of my life! 2 sites, several hours and many self recriminations about not having an underwater camera later, I am a happy camper/swimmer. Someone, anyone, DO NOT let me get on another plane to a tropical destination without an underwater camera, even if it is one of those crappy disposable ones, no matter how much I protest…I’m just being an idiot and you can tell me as much, and that I’ll just regret it so buy one already!

I can’t even begin to tell you…. iridescent fish, puffer fish, red fish, blue fish, star fish, needle fish, gigantic schools of dancing fish, fan coral, brain coral, coral that looked like little cacti, striped fish, polka dot fish, fish with markings that looked like giant eyes…

And best of ALL…

The turtle!

This is not my turtle, but is a reasonable facsimile. This is also clearly not my photo... my thanks to the photographer.

This is not my turtle, but is a reasonable facsimile. This is also clearly not my photo… my thanks to the photographer.

The turtle that only I saw. Not the divers, with their sophisticated underwater breathing apparatuses… me, with a mask and a snorkel and some fins. The same snorkeler who was the only one among the divers in Isla Rosario to see the manta rays. Now tell me… does it makes sense to do all that work (diving has a lot of gear and regulations and steps), to not see the thing that everyone ends up taking about? Hells to the no!

And between dives/snorkels, we had lunch… in paradise. Oceano scuba owns their own beach hut on the hillside. Muy tranquillo.

DSCN0147

Hut view... did some yoga before the dive boat returned. :-)

Hut view… did some yoga before the dive boat returned. 🙂

There was really only one dark moment of the day. After about 30 minutes at the second dive site, I popped my head out of the water… and. There. Was. No. Boat. And suddenly I had that “Open Water” moment… you know, the movie where the divers get left overnight in the shark infested open waters of some giant ocean and, 10 minutes before the boat comes screaming back to rescue them, they remove their weight belts and float down into the deep (oops, spoiler alert…), anyway, I had that moment. So after cursing them for abandoning me and saying all kinds of nasty things in my head while at the same time calculating exactly how long it would take me to swim back to Taganga, the dive boat reappeared. Turns out the boys just went fishing for a bit, and had every intention of coming back for me.

And once again, I have beach bum hair (my hairdresser is going to have something to say about this!). And I feel all hippie-fantastic.

DSCN0192

Props to Nicole H who taught me how to do this with two bobby pins!

4 thoughts on “She Swims with the Fishes (Part Deux)…or in Spanish, (Part Dos)

  1. Oh my goodness, I may have polluted the ocean a little bit if I had been in your situation of no-boat. I love fish as much as the next snorkeler, but COME ON… stay with your people, people! The boat is a rather crucial element to the enjoyment of the fishes!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. OMG, to be a fish swimming beside you when you noticed the boat was gone……. I am imagining how a vast array of expletives sound through the tube of a snorkel…..

    Love, love, love the beach house! Another perfect day envied by me….

    Enjoy your last few days.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

