Colombian Reflections While Staring at Snow

After an amazing 10 days in Colombia, filled with even more adventures than I posted on this blog (can’t put all my business on the internet!), I’m home , but not without a few observations about my time away. In no particular order:

Colombians are overwhelmingly helpful and friendly, even though they speak rapid Spanish with an accent I truly can’t comprehend. Miming works well… gracias a dios for that expensive theatre degree…

Mayonnaise flavored chips are not necessary.

IMG_5339

But I do love buying food from someone through a bus window.

Not once in Colombia did anyone ever offer to sell me drugs. Okay, maybe they did, but please refer to my comment about incomprehensible Spanish.

A pay phone is actually a woman with a phone, whom you pay to use. They are everywhere.

Mototaxis are cheap and terrifying as they slide in and out of traffic.

If you'll notice, she's also pregnant.

If you’ll notice, she’s also pregnant.

At Casa Ines Maria Castillo I felt like I was the only guest. At just under $100/night, it’s not high end Cartagena, but it’s certainly trying to be. The young staff members opened doors for me, suddenly produced a towel for my afternoon by the pool, and generally made sure my every want and need was attended to. Reminds me why I’m SURE I was meant to be born into a life with staff… sigh.

Breakfast by the pool.

Breakfast by the pool.

I am a fan of the happy hour mojito – $3.50

WP_20150212_010

And coffee with a punch.

WP_20150205_001

Juan Valdez is actually a real person, the first farmer to organize what would become a fair trade coffee empire rivaling Starbucks in South America. No word on his donkey.

DSCN0294

Everything is prettier at night when lit up... Clock Tower Gate, Cartagena.

Everything is prettier at night when lit up… Clock Tower Gate, Cartagena.

Technology has made travel so much easier, but because we use our devices for everything, the traditional hostel book exchange has suffered tremendously.

Not one of these books was in English... Dutch, Swedish, perhaps Polish...

Not one of these books was in English… Dutch, Swedish, perhaps Polish…

Colombians love their crocs. As a shoe gal, I have no words for this.

Colombian fruit vendors have more types of fruit on their carts than in my local grocery store. And they are all $0.50.

101_0164

1306613163792

Pedestrians seem to have the right of way, even though there also appear to be no rules of the road. Just launch yourself into the path of oncoming traffic and things will generally go okay.

DSCN0041

One day I want to live in a house with a pool in my living room.

One day I want to live in a house with a pool in my living room.

South America has hippies too.

South America has hippies too.

Colonial architecture is truly beautiful.

Colonial architecture is truly beautiful.

More great architecture.

More great architecture.

Air conditioning on a plane looks like smoke filling the air.

Air conditioning on a plane looks like smoke filling the air.

And finally…

I am happiest by the water... and when warm.

I am happiest by the water… and when warm.

5 thoughts on “Colombian Reflections While Staring at Snow

    • Thanks, Amanda! It was pretty awesome, and I totally recommend that everyone take a solo vacation at least once in their lives…it’s an amazing way to learn a lot about yourself. 🙂

      Like

  1. I really enjoyed your adventure, thank you for sharing. Karin and I weren’t too far away from you. We just got back from Costa Rica.

    Like

    • Thanks, Mark. I trust you had a wonderful time…I was there in the early 1990s and thoroughly enjoyed it. Not to mention of course the weather is currently substantially better than here!

      Like

Leave a Reply

